On World Cities Day (31 oktober), UNESCO Director-General Audrey Azoulay has appointed 55 new UNESCO Creative Cities. With the latest additions, the network now counts 350 cities in more than one hundred countries, representing seven creative fields: Crafts and Folk Art, Design, Film, Gastronomy, Literature, Media Arts and Music. There are eleven new Cities of Literature.

New cities were acknowledged for their strong commitment to harnessing culture and creativity as part of their development strategies, and displaying innovative practices in human-centred urban planning.

The new Cities of Literature are: Bremen (Germany), Buffalo City (South Africa), Hobart (Australia), Iasi (Romania), Kozhikode (India), Kutaisi (Georgia), Lyon (France), Okayama (Japan), Rio de Janeiro (Brazil), Taif (Saudi-Arabia) en Tukums (Latvia).

Watch the list of the 55 new Creative Cities on:

photo: Bremen UNESCO City of Literature